NETS‐T Response Standard Three

18 Jul

NETS‐T Response Standard Three

Standard:

3. Model Digital-Age Work and Learning

Teachers exhibit knowledge, skills, and work processes representative of an innovative professional in a global and digital society.

Teachers:

a. demonstrate fluency in technology systems and the transfer of current knowledge to new technologies and situations

b. collaborate with students, peers, parents, and community members using digital tools and resources to support student success and innovation

c. communicate relevant information and ideas effectively to students, parents, and peers using a variety of digital-age media and formats

d. model and facilitate effective use of current and emerging digital tools to locate, analyze, evaluate, and use information resources to support research and learning

 

Summary

Teachers should have enough knowledge and familiarity with technology that they are able to use it in a variety of situations. Teachers should be able to communicate and collaborate with students, parents, peers, etc using various digital tools and various formats. Teachers should also use technology to in finding, analyzing, and evaluating data and research.

My strengths in this area

I use technology everyday in my classroom. I use my Promethean board and flipcharts daily. When making a presentation to my colleagues, I usually prepare a PowerPoint or flipchart as a visual. I email my parents at least once a week with my weekly newsletter. Email is my main communication tool with my parents. To track my MAP data, I use an Excel spreadsheet and graphs to evaluate and analyze my data. I feel as if I use technology tools a lot in my classroom, but I know there are more ways that I can incorporate more technology!

My weaknesses in this area

Communicating through technology is probably my weakest area. I am big into email, but I have never Skyped, nor virtually communicated with someone. I feel as if my class could benefit majorly if we Skyped with another classroom in our state. The major theme in third grade social studies is South Carolina history. If we could interact with classes across the regions, my class could compare and contrast various things about each region.

 

Leave a Reply

