Response to NETS-T Standard 1

11 Jul

NETS-T Standard One:

1. Facilitate and Inspire Student Learning and Creativity

Teachers use their knowledge of subject matter, teaching and learning, and technology to facilitate experiences that advance student learning, creativity, and innovation in both face-to-face and virtual environments.

Teachers:

a. promote, support, and model creative and innovative thinking and inventiveness

b. engage students in exploring real-world issues and solving authentic problems using digital tools and resources-

c. promote student reflection using collaborative tools to reveal and clarify students’ conceptual understanding and thinking, planning, and creative processes-

d. model collaborative knowledge construction by engaging in learning with students, colleagues, and others in face-to-face and virtual environments

 Summary

Standard One wants teachers to inspire students to use technology in creative ways such as in communication, reflection, research, etc. Teachers can use technology to assess students understanding through Activotes, Activinspire, Powerpoints, and Flipcameras. These devices allow students to reflect and show their knowledge without paper and pencil. Teachers should provide students with the opportunities to address and research every day issues through the use of technology. Unitedstreaming, virtual tours, websites and digital videos and photos give the students a chance to see and gain knowledge about the issues without leaving the classroom. The teacher can use virtual field trips, blogging, email, google docs, and even Skype and Facebook to allow students to interact with one another, others across the country and world virtually.

 My strengths in this area. . .

I use my Promeathean board accessories (Activotes and Activexpressions) to help assess my students’ understanding of topics discussed in class. The students are comfortable with these tools and it is a quick and easy way to gather thoughts all in one place. My students also use Flipcameras to be creative and present different ideas and themes throughout the year.  

 My weaknesses in this are. . .

My major weakness is that I do not have my students virtually interact with anyone. I have not taken advantage of the virtual field trips that my school district offers, and there is absolutely no good excuse. I need to do a better job about collaborating with my co-workers in a virtual environment as well. My school is entirely too large to always communicate and plan through email. Googledocs is going to be a wonderful tool in communication that I plan to implement when I return in August. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

